Friday, December 18, 2009

World Cup Frenzy – The Roll of Honour

The Football World Cup was first played in 1930 in Uruguay and the host team conquered Argentina in the Championship game, 4-2 and thus became the first country to lift the first World Cup Trophy. Since then 17 more events have been played (held after every four years, except 1942 and 1946 due to WW-II). So far seven countries have had the honour to win the world cup title.

Brazil ranks the top for having won the title a record Five times (1958, 1962,1970,1994 and 2002), followed by Italy (1934, 1938, 1982 and 2006), the defending champion for the 2010 event, with four titles. Next comes Germany (1954, 1974 and 1990) with three titles. Uruguay won it yet another time (1950) to score its total to two, besides Argentina (1978 and 1986). England (1966) and France (1998) could only win it once each only.

The world waits to see who is the winner of the 19th World Cup.