Thursday, February 9, 2012

England vs Pakistan: ODI Squad announced

The ongoing tour of Pakistan and England cricket teams has turned out ot be interesting and historical. The humiliating 3-0 defeat in the test matches series of the World Number 1 England at the hands of the Pakistan has been flashing headlines around the world.

The third test will be remembered for it was both hair-raising and historical. Hair-raising because in the first innings, Pakistan was back in pavilion for just 99. Historical because the Pakistan batsman stood firm against England bowling onslaught and won the match by 71 runs - making history since 1907 no team has ever won a match after scoring less than 100.

Now all eyes are set on the four limited over matches (ODIs) that the two teams will play in Dubai, starting 13 February later next week.

Shahid Afridi, aka Boom Boom Afridi, has been included in the Pakistan squad and it is hoped that he enthralls the arena with his super shots once again - though many would want him to cool-cool Afridi since in in his enthusiasm and prompted by the yelling crowds for hitting sixes and fours, he normally gives out easy catches and goes back into the pavilion. 

Both sides have announced their squads, which are as under:

Misbah ul Haq (Captain), Younis Khan, Shahid Khan Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Farhat, Umar Akmal, Asad Shafiq, Adnan Akmal, Junaid Khan, Umar Gul, Aizaz Cheema, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Wahab Riaz, Hammad Azam, Azhar Ali.

Alastair Cook (Captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter(wk), Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pieterson, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott.