Friday, June 25, 2010

India tames Sri Lanka to lift Asia Cup

Well, at last one of the three on going Cups is decided. On 24th June, India tamed Sri Lanka in the final of the Asia Cup Cricket tournament, being played at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium in Sri Lanka, by 81 runs and lifted the cup after eyeing it for the last 15 years. This is also the fifth time India has won the cup since its inception.

India won the toss and elected to bat and scored 268 for 6 in the stipulated 50 overs. Indian opener Karthik scored a brilliant 66, while Rohit and Dhoni (the Indian skipper) scored 41 and 38 respectively. When it came to Sri Lanka to chase the target, they just crumbled in 44.4 overs scoring mere 187 runs. The Indian victory is largely attributed to its three seamers Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra.

India’s Dinesh Karthik was declared the man of the match. The Pakistani skipper Shahid Afridi, who muct be feeling sorry for being out of the cup earlier, was however lucky to be declared Player of the Tournament for his two outstanding 100s in the tournament.

Read detailed account of the match: Cricinfo